The “Johannes B” project

The pianist Linlin Fan and the violinist Anja Schaller commissioned two young composers from the Nuremberg/Fuerth area, Johannes Brinkmann and Johannes Billich, to each write a piece for violin and piano.


The similarity of their names provided the idea for this project: “Johannes B – an Initial Start / an Alphabetical Concert”. Coincidently, the names remind one instantly of two great composers who wrote many wonderful sonatas for violin and piano: Johann Sebastian Bach and Johannes Brahms. This creates a natural arc from the Baroque through Romanticism to New Music. The two contemporary pieces offer further contrasts, as the composers start with very different source materials.


projekt „johannes b“ linlin fan klavier

Linlin Fan, piano

projekt „johannes b“ anja schallers violine

Anja Schallers, violin